Barberton Library
Quick Links
Services »
About The Library »
About Barberton »
Endowment Fund »
News »


Calendar of Events
Hours
Monday
10:00am – 8:00pm
Tuesday
10:00am – 8:00pm
Wednesday
10:00am – 8:00pm
Thursday
10:00am – 8:00pm
Friday
12:00pm – 6:00pm
Saturday
12:00pm – 6:00pm
Sunday
1:00pm – 5:00pm
Sunday hours are Labor Day – Memorial Day only


 

Support Your Library


Research


Research
Databases
printer friendly viewprinter friendly

 

Use these databases in the library or from home.  Some may require you to enter your library card number.  These electronic resources are made available by the Barberton Public Library through participation in the Clevnet Library Consortium. 

Academic Search Premier - The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database. Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.  PDF backfiles to 1975 or further for well over one hundred journals, and searachable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.  This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

Akron Beacon Journal - Full text access to all content from 1984 to present.

AllData Online - Online resource for automotive diagnostic and car repair information. It supplies detailed manufacturer information for both basic and complex automobile systems and components. It contains information such as diagrams and exploded views, parts and labor, service and maintenance, system and component diagnostic trouble codes, Technical Service Bulletins, tools and equipment, and vehicle specifications. (No home access - IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY).

Alt HealthWatch from EBSCO Host - This alternative health database provides full text for more than 140 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals.  Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complimentary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.

American and English Full Text Literature Collections (Chadwick-Healy Ltd.) - A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources.

Ancestry Library Edition - Ancestry Library Edition provides easy access to more than 4,000 genealogy databases with a single search. Coverage focuses primarily on the United States and the United Kingdom, although other areas are covered. Databases include the complete U.S. Census & Index (1790-1930), vital, church, court, and immigration records. The Map Center contains more than 1,000 historical maps. Other notable collections include Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage Books; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection. Databases are updated continuously as new information becomes available.  (No home access - IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY).

ART Collection (OhioLINK Digital Media Center - Art and Architecture Database) - The OhioLINK Art and Architecture images database is a collection of digital images from AMICO (The Art Museum Image Consortium) as well as contributions from OhioLINK institutions.  Some AMICO images are accompanied by audio or video files, such as an audio tour.

Biography Reference Bank (formerly Biographies Plus Illustrated) (H.W. Wilson) - More than 72,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 20,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstacts, and citations.  The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images.

Biography Resource Center (The Gale Group) - A database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.  Searchable by person, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender.

Biography Resource Center: African Americans - A database of biographical information on more than 25,000 people from more than 60 volumes of 6 respected Gale Group sources such as Contemporary Black Biography, Notable Black American Men, Notable Black American Scientists, and Who's Who Among African Americans, with over 42,000 full-text articles from nearly 300 magazines including American History, Essence, Jet and U.S. News and World Report. 

Business Leader Profiles for Students (Gale Virtual Reference Library) - Covers 350 prominent indivduals who have made significant contributions to business and industry.  Profiles range from 1,250 to 2,500 words in length.

Business Source Premier - This is the industry's most used business research database, providing the full text for more than 8,000 serials.  Business Source Premier provides full text back to 1965 and searchable cited references back to as far as 1998.  Coverage includes virtually all subject areas relagted to business.  This database is updated on daily basis via EBSCOhost.

Cincinnati Post - Full text access to all content from 1990 to 2007.

Cleveland Necrology File - The Cleveland Necrology File contains local cemetery records and newspaper death notices for the following years: 1833, 1847-1848, 1850-1975.  A more complete description of the file's contents can be found in the "about" section of the database.  For necrology information after 1975, please use the Cleveland News Index.

Cleveland News Index (Cleveland Public Library) - The online Cleveland News Index lists citation information for local news stories, feature articles and reviews from the Cleveland Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999), Cleveland Magazine (1983-present),  Northern Ohio Live (Sep. 1990-present), and Ohio Magazine (Oct. 1990-present).  Obituaries from the Plain Dealer and the Cleveland Press are included from 1976 to present. Please note that this index does not provide full text access to these sources.

Columbus Dispatch - Full text access to all content from 1985 to present.

Computer Source - Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.  This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

Contemporary Novelists (Gale Virtual Reference Library) - Contains biographical/critical essays on the most important living novelists writing in English worldwide.

Contemporary Poets (Gale Virtual Reference Library) - Provides biographical and bibliographical information on 789 of the world's most important contemporary English-language poets, including 120 new to this edition.  Entries include personal and career information, addresses, a detailed bibliography, a list of further reading sources, and more.  Each entry also includes a signed critical essay covering each poet's career and works, written by an expert in the field.

Dayton Daily News - Full text access to all content from 1990 to present.

EBSCO Animals - Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

EBSCO MasterFILE Premier - Full text articles from nearly 1,800 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals.  It also offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,700 periodicals.  Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far bask as January of 1984.  Updated daily.

EBSCOhost Databases (All) - Academic Search Premier, Alt Health Watch, Business Source Premier, Computer Source, Consumer Edition, ERIC, Health Source: consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing & Academic, MAS FullTEXT Ultra, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, Professional Development Collection, Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection, Religion & Philosophy Collection, Sociological Collection and Vocational Search & Career Collection.

ERIC (EBSCOhost) (Educational Resources Information Center) - Over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics.  Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines.

Estudiantil Hallazhgos en Linea - Spanish speakers and students of Spanish can benefit from the clear, concise information in Estudiantil Hallazgos, World Book's intermediate Spanish-language encyclopedia.

First Call For Help's LinkToHelp.org - In an effort to increase access to a wide range of health and human services in Cuyahoga County, United Way Services' First Call for Help (FCFH) has developed a web-based version of its "Reference" database called LinkToHelp.org  Access more than 1,000 agencies, 4,000 programs, and 10,000 services in the Cleveland area by searching this valuable new online resource.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - This database provides more than 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Gale Legal Forms - Provides a wide selection of Ohio legal forms across the most popular legal areas.  Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others.  Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in layman's language.

Health and Medical Databases from EBSCOhost - If you're looking for health or medical-related information or articles, check out this collection of databases from EBSCOhost.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.  Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry,  and many more.

HeritageQuest Online - HeritageQuest features the U.S. Census 1790-1930 (1850-60 Slave Census Schedules not included), the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), a digitized collection of more than 25,000 family and local history books, Records from the Revolutionary War Era Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files and Freedman's Bank Records (1865-1874).

Humanities International Index - Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.  Produced by Whitson Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.6 million records.

InfoLine - This is the 2-1-1 Information and Referral site for Summit County.  Locate agencies to assist in providing help for food, clothing, shelter and more.   Users may call 2-1-1 in Summit County 24/7 and receive help as well.

Kids Search | (EBSCOhost) - Kids Search is designed especially for youth in grades K-6.  Kids Search makes it easier for students to look for their subjects of interest by automatically searching across all applicable databases simultaneously. Important features and funtionality of Kids Search include a completely new, visually appealing look and feel; the ability to search by topic, subtopic, or keywords; simulteanous searching across all subscribed databases; the ability to sort results by relevance, as well as by date; the option of filtering search results by source type; and the ability to add search results, images, or persistent links to searches to the Folder.

LearningExpress Library - LearningExpress Library provides an interactive online collection of practice tests and tutorial courses to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.  You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.  Tests include: GED Prep, College Prep including SAT and ACT, Grad School Entrance, Military, Nursing, Real Estate, Law Enforcement, US Citizenship, Civil Service and much more.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) - LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.  Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.  Coverage in the database extends back as far as mid-1960s.

Literature Resource Center (The Gale Group) - Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers. Coverage of 2,000 of the most studied authors. Searchable by author name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Combines Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and more.

MAS Ultra - School Edition - Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for more than 700 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines. MAS Ultra School Edition also provides more than 500 full text pamphlets, more than 350 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

MasterFILE Premier - Full text articles from nearly 1,800 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,700 periodicals. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstracts backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Updated daily.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (U.S. National Library of Medicine) - The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from over 3,900 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries during the current four years. Contains over 9 million records dating back to 1966.

Middle Search Plus - Middle Search Plus provides full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and junior high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

NEO CANDO Online Database - NEO CANDO is an information sharing network providing a comprehensive collection of demographic data describing the 17-county Northeast Ohio region, or for specific neighborhoods within the region. Data regarding population trends, poverty, employment, educational attainment, housing and crime statistics are available.

netLibrary - Additional downloadable econtent; the digital version of books, journals, and reference resources. Accessible 24 hours a days, seven days a week.

NetWellness (University of Cincinnati) - Includes periodicals (indexing to over 150 titles with selective indexing and full text of health-related articles from over 2500 general interest periodicals), pamphlets (full text coverage of over 500 medical education pamphlets) and reference books (full text coverage of Mosby's Medical Dictionary, The People's Book of Medical Texts, Oryx Press Consumer Health Information Source Book, USPDI Drug Information in Lay Language, and Columbia University Complete Home Medical Guide).

Newsbank Newspapers - Full text access to several national newspapers including the Cleveland Plain Dealer, the Columbus Dispatch, Akron Beacon Journal and more.

Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost) - Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Nonfiction Classics for Students (Gale Virtual Reference Library) - Provides in-depth literary and historical background on the most commonly studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs in a streamlined, easy-to-use format. Covering 15-20 works per volume, this reference series gives high-school and undergraduate students an ideal starting point for class assignments, term papers, and special projects.

Novelist Plus 
- NoveList allows readers of all ages to use a favorite author or title to discover new books to read. You can also search NoveList's 96,000 title database by subject or genre.

Novelist K-8 - "Curriculum-connected Book Lists for the Librarian on the Go!" Explore NoveList's expert-created Grab and Go Topical Book Lists, covering a range of topics for grade levels from kindergarten through eighth grade.

Ohio Historical Society Searchable Databases - This collection of searchable databases (many of which were created under the Ohio Vital Information for Libraries Center, a grant-funded project of OHS supported by the State Library of Ohio and OPLIN) includes: Online Documents, Online Research Tools, Online Services, and On-location Services.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides full text access to the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other sources to provide a one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on over 100 controversial issues.

Oxford Reference Online - Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource.

Plain Dealer - Full text access to all content from 1991 to the present.

Professional Development Collection - Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - This database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO.

Reference USA - Directory information for 11 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. Search for businesses by SIC code, sales volume, number of employees and more. Search for residence directory information by name, location or phone number.

Regional Business News - This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Religion and Philosophy Collection - This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Salud en Espanol (Consumer Health CompleteSpanish Version) - Full text journals, magazines, and reference books from EBSCOhost dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition. Coverage that includes a focus on the complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Ohio - A treasure trove of information, detailed maps at building level for more than 400 Ohio communities from 1868 to the 1960s. Negotiating the site may require some practice. Try the 1024 x 768 pixel size. Use a city and street name or city and building's name where possible to search in keyword, or limit your search by date.

Science Online - Science Online provides a comprehensive overview of scientific disciplines through a variety of authoritative sources including essays, diagrams, images, biographies, experiments, and a comprehensive timeline of events. Scientific terms are hyperlinked throughout each resource providing an extensive explanation of any topic. This database is intended for students in middle school through high school.

Searchasaurus - Research tool for elementary age students from EBSCOhost.

Sociological Collection - This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

State Academies of Science Abstracts - A source of records on new species, range extensions, and threatened and endangered species. From agriculture to medicine, chemistry to zoology, the service indexes more than 50 years of journals for most states.

Student Research Center | (EBSCOhost) - EBSCO's Student Research Center makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

Toledo Blade - Full text access to all content from 1996 to the present.

TOPICsearch - This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 102,800 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.

Vocational and Career Collection - Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.

World Book Advanced - Designed for high school and college students, World Book Advanced is a powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedic, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search. It also contains individual accounts that allow users to create and save their work, and timeline and citation builders.

World Book Kids - Intended for grades K-8, World Book Kids is a fun and interactive way to introduce younger students to the world of online learning. Searching is simple and can be done by keyword or by choosing a general subject that breaks down into specific topics. The encyclopedia also provides images, diagrams, maps and activities tied to national curriculum standards.

World Book Reference Center - World Book Encyclopedia articles form the foundation of this expansive reference database that includes the World Book Dictionary, the World Book Atlas, an extensive multimedia collection, thousands of editor-selected Web sites, correlations to state and provincial curriculum standards, and much more.

WorldCat (OCLC) - The world's most comprehensive bibliography with 40 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information back to the 11th Century. Includes holdings information from the world's libraries.

 


Home | Contact Us | About the Library | About Barberton | Reference Desk | Teen Central | Childrens Room | Endowment Fund
Community Outreach | Local History Room | Community Health Branch | Meeting Rooms | Friends of the Library | Site Map
©2010 Barberton Public Library. All rights reserved.
Barberton Public Library - 602 West Park Avenue - Barberton, OH 44203 - (330) 745-1194